top of page
Recent Posts

A Softer Side of France

I sat, starring at autumn. It had arrived, despite me not being ready to give up beach weather and tank-top wearing. I was greeted in Southern France to a more subdued place than I had been expecting. The picturesque vintage photograph of the star-studded beach-centric blue coast was not in sight. It was a little windy, which slightly won the temperature war with the bright sun. A few sunbathers dotted the rocky beach - "tourists," I'm sure everyone thought.

Despite not seeming like the vacation of the stars, with perfect picnic weather, a light neck handkerchief blowing in the wind of a red vintage convertible and summer nights out filled with lots of wine, this time of the year has something to offer. The quieter less congested French Riviera becomes more reminiscent of a sultry Lana del Rey song. A chance to know the city more intimately and the blue waters without fighting for it's attention. And a leisurely walk to the Castle of Nice, or a stroll through the fruit and flower market seem perfect this time of year.

I wandered from my hostel, Villa Saint Exupery, located in the center of town near the stunning Fountain of the Sun depicting a perfectly bodied Apollo front-and-center. They offer free walking tours of the old town and a number of other paid activities including sailing, canyoning and different water sports. I chose to take note from the weather and be a little more introspective as I spent my time here in Nice. Noting all of the pigeons and passersby.

The day I left it was raining. A rare occurrence I was told for this part of France. I moved on to something less hollywood-esque, but seemingly more connected with it's past and with nature, Annecy, France. The trip up north was rather lengthy, probably because I passed through Lyon first before heading closer to the Swiss border. Annecy was everything I needed it to be. Humble, striking and endearing. Here I could appreciate fall. The crisp smell in the air, the changing leaves. It all seemed beautiful as I walked around the grand lake that makes the town so popular. A place that helps you accept change, or at least the change of season.

I stayed a little outside of the old town, a ten or so minute walk away, in Annecy Hostel. I have noticed that other guests who stay at hostels in places that are more focused on natural beauty seem to build a temporary community really quickly. I was surrounded by people who wanted to cook, play board games, know your story, hangout and hike. It's always refreshing for me. I walked around the lake, through the town and took in autumn. It was here. And I was ok with it.

bottom of page